It was the day before the first day of high school.  They wrote those letters to their future selves, hid them in a secret place, and vowed to unearth them at graduation.

As if any of them had a clue what the next four years had in store.

Gregor is quietly, desperately in love with Whitney until a tragedy transforms his world. Zoe is running from everything: her celebrity mom, a public scandal, a long-held family secret and, ultimately, herself. Jake knows what it means that he has a crush on his best friend, Ted; it’s everything else that’s so confusing. Beautiful Whitney seems to have it together, but looks can be deceiving. And then there’s Mia. She  watches them all, but doesn’t say a word until it’s almost too late.

Five teens. Fours years. An unforgettable journey.

  • ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults
  • VOYA Magazine’s * Perfect Tens *
  • Kirkus Best Teen Books
  • Chicago Public Library’s Best Teen Fiction
  • Texas Tayshas High School Reading List

“Mackler keeps all five story lines clear, absorbing, and integral to the larger story of friendship, perseverance, and hope.” 
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Characters live, grow, and ultimately come of age in a beautifully constructed world.”
Kirkus, starred review

“A wonderfully written peek into adolescence gushing with relatability.”
School Library Journal, starred review

“[The characters’ insight, humor, and idiosyncrasies ring true.”
VOYA, starred review

“Carolyn Mackler has created a new way to tell the story of high school.”